Here Comes The Moon

Those of you who go out after sunset may have noticed that the February moon is working on being full.  Next weekend, the moon will peak and I’ll be out shooting.

I’ve found recently that I really need to start paying more attention to when the moon rises.  Many of the locations I scout are such that I’d like to get a rising or early moon in the shot.   The window for this is just an hour our two.  Waiting too long and I won’t be able to get both my subject and the moon in the same shot.  I also don’t necessarily want to be out at all hours either which means there are just one or two nights where I can get the moon rising around 8 or 9 and still be in bed at a descent hour.  Come summer, forget it.   No chance of starting a shoot until after 10pm.   Hopefully, the weather will cooperate this week and I will not be treated to frostbitten finger tips or ears.  January was tough.  Still, only in the winter can I get a full night’s worth of shooting in by midnight.  When summer arrives, a full night of shooting is exactly that.

I’ve come across an interesting scene of abandonment here on Cape Cod that I am planning to shoot for the first time.   Hopefully, I’ll be able to share the results with you soon.

Got some news to announce tomorrow so stay tuned…

~ by magellanous on February 12, 2011.

3 Responses to “Here Comes The Moon”

  1. Can I get the news early? Is that a membership privilege?

  2. great news!! looking forward to seeing the finished product.

Leave a Reply

 
